Picture 6

Leadership

What is the first thing that pops into your mind when you hear the word Leadership? Is it: Boss, Person in charge, Decision maker, Power broker, or something we should not print? When I asked this question to many of my peers, the answers were in some ways quit alarming. I’m the boss! Do it my way or the highway! Might makes right! They gave me the title, so I am the leader.

Leadership is not about titles, the letters before or after your name. True Leadership can not be given, appointed, or attained through a job promotion; it is truly an earned thing that is accomplished on a daily part of living your life.

The next question is always: Are Leaders born or made. I believe that we all are born with the leader gene. I do think it takes practice, dedication, intentionality, and decisiveness to pursue it.

I never realized that as an 11 year old in Boy Scouts I was starting my life long journey into Leadership. It was many years later sitting for a radio interview that it all started to make sense and it is there I learned these 11 Leadership Skills.

  1. Communication
  2. Knowing and Using Your Resources
  3. Understanding the Characteristics and Needs of the Group and Its Members
  4. Planning
  5. Group Performance
  6. Effective Teaching
  7. Representing the Group
  8. Evaluating
  9. Sharing Leadership
  10. Coaching / Mentoring

 

I was also taught that we manage things and lead people and that you can never lead others until you can learn to lead yourself. My friend John C. Maxwell in his book The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership says this: Law #2 The Law of Influence

The True Measure of Leadership Is Influence – Nothing More, Nothing Less.

Leadership Wrangler

DW Powell

727-422-1833

Dick@EWFW.org       www.EWFW.org

11953128_454485081343388_687171664211859931_n12299140_934556953292256_3164685760425186360_n.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

